Duhallow Final Victory 2001


Article from Cork Examiner after the 2001 Duhallow Final between Rockchapel and Boherbue


Rockchapel 0-9 Boherbue 0-5
Rockchapel regained the Duhallow Junior Football title after a 14 year wait when a great second half display took them to a convincing victory over Boherbue in a final played before a huge attendance at Ballydesmond yesterday.

The teams were meeting in a final for the first time and it was all to play for at half time when the scores were level at 0-4 each. But Rockchapel dominated with the wind behind them in a second half and were it not for erratic shooting they would have put the game beyond Boherbue’s reach much sooner than they did.
Leading by three points with then minutes to go, Rockchapel were still not certain of victory and indeed shortly before the end of normal time, Boherbue came close to equalising when a shot for a goal by Roger Casey hit the post.

But almost immediately, Rockchapel went downfield and John Murphy sent over the clinching point to give them their sixth divisional title, the first of which was won in 1976.

With the backs playing well at both ends, scores were never easy to come by. Boherbue, playing with the wind in the first half, were obviously hoping to build up a lead, but were limited to 3 points by Roger Casey and another by Tomas Curtin, scores that were matched by Rockchapel points by John F. Murphy, Mossie Leahy, Martin Casey and PJ Murphy.

An exchange of points between Anthony O’Donnell and Roger Casey left the scores still level ten minutes into the second half. Points by Mossie Leahy and Anthony O’Donnell then pushed Rockchapel into the lead and it looked as if they might gain a decisive advantage when awarded a penalty at the three quarter stage. But John Murph0y’s shot was saved by Boherbue and Cork U-21 goalkeeper Kevin Murphy.

However, Rockchapel continued to dominate the play, with strong play by their half-back, with strong fielders Paul Murphy and Thomas Mahony preventing Boherbue from launching any meaningful attacks. And further points by TJ O’Callaghan and John Murphy gave thema well deserved victory.

Scorers: Rockchapel: M. Leahy 0-2; A. O’Donnell 0-2; JF Murphy, M. Casey (free), PJ. Murphy; TJ O’Callaghan and J.Murphy 0-1 each.

Boherbue: R. Casey 0-4 (3 frees); T. Curtin 0-1.

ROCKCHAPEL: T. Collins, C. Guiney, C. Murphy, T. Mulcahy, D. Murphy, J. Cahill, TJ O’CallaghaN, P. Murphy, T. Mahony, A O’Donnell, JF Murphy, M. Casey, M. Leahy, J. Murphy, PJ Murphy.

BOHERBUE: K. Murphy, A. Buckley, E. Ahern, K O’Connell, C. Hickey, J. O’Connor, M. Dennehy, E. Walsh, DC O’Connor, T. Curtin, K. O’Keeffe, K. Lenihan, J. Daly, R. Casey, G. O’Connell. Subs. T. Hickey for T. Curtin; A. Lynch for A. Buckley.

Referee. G. Moran, Banteer.